Congressman John Shimkus: The Bible and Global Warming

Congressman John Shimkus believes the Bible is infallible and authoritative over all matters such as science and therefore believes we have nothing to worry about with regards to global warming. Oh…he is also hoping to chair the powerful House Energy Committee, becoming the Environmental Policy Leader of the House!

3 responses to “Congressman John Shimkus: The Bible and Global Warming

  1. I feel so much better now.

  2. Leave the congressman to his own thing and come up with your own thing: are we, humans, causing global warming? Yes or now? The scientific community is notoriously – sometimes pathetically – divided on the issue. I have come to the conclusion (by way of many years of research across various continents and massive primary data from various archives) that humans should be our least concern. What say you?

    • I am not a scientist Agnus and it is not his science I am critiquing. I am an intermediate Bible scholar and theologian and so it is his misuse of the Bible as political rhetoric that I take issue with. That is all. I believe humans have been entrusted with stewardship of God’s creation – this is a responsibility we should take seriously. It grieves me and I believe it grieves God what we are doing to this planet. If Christians are going to quote the Bible with regards to the environment, quote about our responsibility and God given influence over the health of creation rather than some passage that implies the mess is out of our hands.
      Does this make sense?

Leave a comment